Wednesday, July 19, 2006

Catfish Blow Lead, Win In 11

Despite blowing a one-run lead in the 9th inning, the Columbus Catfish scored three runs on a bases-clearing triple in the 11th inning to beat the Asheville Tourists (Rockies), 6-3.

The Catfish fell behind in the 1st inning when Asheville SS Christopher Nelson hit a solo home run.

In the 3rd inning, the Catfish tied it up when CF Adam Godwin singled then stole second. SS Ivan De Jesus sacrificed Godwin to 3rd. After DH Jason Mooneyham was hit by a pitch, 3B Russell Mitchell hit a sacrifice fly to CF Dexter Fowler, scoring Godwin.

In the bottom of the 3rd, Asheville regained the lead on a double and an RBI single.

The Catfish took the lead in the 5th on C Anthony Harper's two-run homer that also scored Jason Mooneyham, who had walked.

It remained 3-2 Catfish until the bottom of the 9th, when Ramon Troncoso blew his third straight save. With two outs, Troncoso allowed three straight singles to allow Asheville to tie the game.

After a scoreless 10th, the Catfish won it in the 11th. Adam Godwin singled, then advanced to 2nd on a wild pitch. Ivan De Jesus sacrificed Godwin to third. After Jason Mooneyham was hit by a pitch, he was replaced by pinch runner Bridger Hunt, who promptly stole second. Following an out, Anthony Harper was intentionally walked. That's when 2B Travis Denker doubled, clearing the based and driving in Godwin, Hunt, and Harper.

In the bottom of the 11th, Troncoso allowed one base runner on a walk, but struck out one and got two other Tourists to fly out to center to pick up the win, his third straight, all coming on blown saves.

The win brings the Catfish to third place, tied with Asheville, 7 games behind division-leading Augusta (who also won tonight) and 4 games behind the second-place (and surging) Greenville Drive.

The series continues Thursday through Saturday, before the Catfish return home Monday to open an 8-game home stand.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please choose a Profile in "Comment as" or sign your name to Anonymous comments. Comment policy